Athlete Profile: Curtis Lazar

In the Stands got a hold of the Captain of Team BC for the Canada Games 2011.  Lazar from BC has been turning scouts all over Canada as he was the leading scorer at the 2011 Canada games and helped lead team BC to a goal medal.  We asked him a few general and specific questions.

Current team – Okanagan Hockey Academy midget prep (AAAA) team
Height – 5’10.5″
Weight – 175lbs
Date of birth – February 2nd, 1995
Position – Center
Where you played minor hockey/ where you’re from – Salmon Arm & Vernon minor hockey association. Currently live in Vernon BC
Favourite player/ player you model your game after – Ryan Getzlaf and I model my game after Jonathan toews and Mike Richards
When you started playing hockey – 5 years old in Salmon Arm BC.

Q1. After seeing you perform at the Canada games as captain of the gold medal winning team BC, some people are talking about you as the best 1995 born player in the world. Are you aware of this? If so, what do you think of it?

Yeah after the Canada games i have come quite popular around home and its pretty neat, but I just got to remember to enjoy it and also not let it get to my head.

Q2. What would you say your greatest assets are as a player? What would you say are your greatest weaknesses?

I feel like my skating ability as well as my physical play are some of my strengths, i also feel i have to offensive ability to create plays and score goals. One weakness I need to improve on is my D-zone play because some times i get too caught up in trying to score a goal and forget about playing defensively.

Q3. Where does captaining your team to a gold medal at Canada games rank on your all time list of accomplishments?

It definitely is right up near the top of the list for me, I had the time of my life in Halifax and it was great to win but on the same token it was sad to leave such an awesome event being at the Canada Winter Games.

Q4. If being drafted 2nd overall didn’t already put big enough expectations on your shoulders for your debut season in the WHL, your play at Canada games sure did. How well do you see yourself adapting to the Major Junior hockey style of play? What are your own personal expectations for next season?

Well I am confident in my play and feel I can be an impact for the Edmonton Oil Kings in the rnear future. I have already played 4 games with them and that experience has helped me out a lot and I know what to expect for the next time I get to play with them. All i expect from myself is to go out there and work my hardest and have fun because when im doing that, good things usually happen.

Q5. What are your lifetime goals as a hockey player?

My lifetime goals would be to get drafted to the NHL and have a successful career there and just play hockey for as long as i can

Curtis Lazar - Captain of Team BC (2011 Canada Games)

This entry was posted in Athlete Profile, Hockey, John MacDonald. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment